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Complete Description of the Subjects and Issues Involved: This Part shall apply to the

Paid Leave for All Workers Act [820 ILCS 192]. The purpose of the Act is to establish a
minimum paid leave standard for all workers in Illinois - to provide economic security for
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employees who need to use paid time off from work for any reason; and to safeguard the
welfare, health, safety, and prosperity of the people of Illinois.

Published studies and reports, and sources of underlying data, used to compose this
rulemaking: None

Will this rulemaking replace an emergency rule currently in effect? No

Does this rulemaking contain an automatic repeal date? No

Does this rulemaking contain incorporations by reference? No

Are there any other rulemakings pending on this Part? No

Statement of Statewide Policy Objective: This rulemaking does create or enlarge a
mandate as described in Section 3(b) of the State Mandates Act. Pursuant to 820 ILCS
192/10, under the definition of employer in the Act, the law shall apply to "units of local
government, any political subdivision of the State or units of local government". The
intent of the General Assembly was clearly made in Section 5 of the Act when it states,
"The General Assembly finds that it is in the public policy interests of the State for all
working Illinoisans to have some paid leave from work to maintain their health and well-
being, care for their families, or use for any other reason of their choosing." This law
applies to all employers in Illinois. Including public bodies. It does exempt school
districts organized under the School Code and park districts.

Time, Place, and Manner in which interested persons may comment on this proposed
rulemaking: Comments on this proposed rulemaking may be submitted in writing for a
period of 45 days following publication of this Notice. Comments should be submitted
to:

Anna Koeppel

[llinois Department of Labor
Lincoln Tower Plaza

524 S. 2" Street

Suite 400

Springfield, IL 62701

(217) 558-1270
Anna.Koeppel@illinois.gov
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13)  Initial Regulatory Flexibility Analysis:
A) Types of small businesses, small municipalities and not for profit corporations

affected: This law applies to all employers in Illinois, including public bodies. It
does exempt school districts organized under the School Code and park districts.

B) Reporting, bookkeeping or other procedures required for compliance: This law
will require record keeping and reporting by employers for compliance.
Employers may choose how they provide the five days of paid leave to their
employees. They may "front-load" the leave all at once, or they may require the
employee to accrue their time, pursuant to subsection (b) of Section 15 of the law.
Section 20 of the law states "An employer that provides paid leave on an accrual
basis pursuant to subsection (b) of Section 15 shall provide notice of the amount
of paid leave accrued or used by an employee upon request by the employee in
accordance with the employer's reasonable paid leave policy notification
provisions." Therefore, this will require the employer to provide their employee
with the amount of time the employee is allowed to use for paid leave. Pursuant
to Section 200.450 of the proposed rules, every employer shall create and
maintain for not less than 3 years the following records for each employee: name
and address; hours worked each day in each work week; paid leave earned or
accrued in each work week; paid leave taken or used in each work week; requests
by the employee to use paid leave that the employer denied; and remaining paid
leave balance in each work week and upon employee's leave or termination from
employment.

0] Types of professional skills necessary for compliance: None

14)  Small Business Impact Analysis:

A) Types of businesses subject to the proposed rule:

11 Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing and Hunting

21 Mining
22 Utilities
23 Construction

31-33 Manufacturing
42 Wholesale Trade
44-45 Retail Trade



ILLINOIS REGISTER 15562

23
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULES

48-49 Transportation and Warehousing

51 Information
52 Finance and Insurance
53 Real Estate Rental and Leasing
54 Professional, Scientific, and Technical Services
55 Management of Companies and Enterprises
56 Administrative and Support and Waste Management and Remediation
Services
61 Educational Services
62 Health Care and Social Assistance
71 Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation
72 Accommodation and Food Services
81 Other Services (except Public Administration)
92 Public Administration
B) Categories that the agency reasonably believes the rulemaking will impact,
including:
1. Hiring and additional staffing
il. Regulatory requirements
vii.  Training requirements
viii.  Recordkeeping
iX. Compensation and benefits

15)  Regulatory Agenda on which this rulemaking was summarized: July 2023

The full text of the Proposed Rule begins on the next page:
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TITLE 56: LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT
CHAPTER I: DEPARTMENT OF LABOR
SUBCHAPTER b: REGULATION OF WORKING CONDITIONS

PART 200
PAID LEAVE FOR ALL WORKERS ACT

SUBPART A: GENERAL PROVISIONS

Scope
Definitions
Incorporated and Referenced Materials

SUBPART B: EARNING PAID LEAVE

General Provisions

Start of Paid Leave Benefits

Accruing Paid Leave Over a 12-Month Period
Frontloading Paid Leave at the Start of a 12-Month Period
Mixed-Earning Policies

Notice and Accounting

Collective Bargaining Agreements

Local Paid Leave Ordinances

SUBPART C: USE OF PAID LEAVE
General Provisions
Paid Leave Usage Policy and Notice Requirements
Carry Over
Rate of Pay

SUBPART D: EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES

Domestic Workers
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200.410 Joint Employment
200.420 Transfers and Reinstatements
200.430 Continuation of Health Benefits
200.440 Recordkeeping Requirements
200.450 Display of Paid Leave for All Workers Notice
200.460 Determining Payout of Paid Leave Upon Separation from Employment
200.470 Prohibition on Retaliation
SUBPART E: ENFORCEMENT
Section
200.500 Filing a Complaint
200.510 Service of Documents
200.520 Administrative Hearings
200.530 Damages, Penalties, and Relief Due to the Employee
200.540 Penalties Due to the Department of Labor
AUTHORITY: Implementing and authorized by the Paid Leave for All Workers Act [820 ILCS
192].
SOURCE: Adopted at 48 Ill. Reg. , effective

SUBPART A: GENERAL PROVISIONS

Section 200.100 Scope

This Part implements the Paid Leave for All Workers Act [820 ILCS 192].

Section 200.110 Definitions

In addition to the terms set forth in Section 10 of the Act, all other terms used in this Part shall
have the meanings set forth in this Section.

"Accrual" or "accrue" is the practice of accumulating paid time off over a period
of time, proportionately to hours worked.

"Act" means the Paid Leave for All Workers Act [820 ILCS 192].
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"Administrative Law Judge" means an individual authorized by the Department to
determine the merits of claims alleging violations of the Act.

"Aggrieved Employee" means an employee affected by a possible violation of the
Act, regardless of whether the employee has filed a claim with the Department.

"Complaint" means a signed document alleging a violation of the Act,
accompanied by any supporting documentation required by the Department.

"Construction industry" means any constructing, altering, reconstructing,
repairing, rehabilitating, refinishing, refurbishing, remodeling, remediating,
renovating, custom fabricating, maintenance, landscaping, improving, wrecking,
painting, decorating, demolishing, or adding to or subtracting from any building,
structure, highway, roadway, street, bridge, alley, sewer, ditch, sewage disposal
plant, waterworks, parking facility, railroad, excavation or other structure,
project, development, real property, or improvement, or to do any part thereof,
whether or not the performance of the work herein described involves the addition
to or fabrication into, any structure, project, development, real property, or
improvement herein described of any material or article of merchandise. The
definition also includes moving construction-related materials on the job site or
to or from the job site, snow plowing, snow removal, and refuse collection. [820

ILCS 192/10]
"Day" means a calendar day.

"Department" means the Illinois Department of Labor, its Director, and the
Director's authorized representatives. [820 ILCS 192/110]

"Domestic work"” means housekeeping, house cleaning, home management, nanny
services including childcare and child monitoring, caregiving, personal care or
home health services for elderly persons or persons with an illness, injury, or
disability who require assistance in caring for themselves, laundering, cooking,
companion services, chauffeuring, or other household services for members of
households or their guests in or about a private home or residence or any other
location where the domestic work is performed, as defined by the Domestic
Workers' Bill of Rights Act. [820 ILCS 192/10]

"Domestic worker" means a person, including independent contractors, sole
proprietors, and partnerships, who performs domestic work. [820 ILCS 192/10]
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"Domicile" means a true, fixed, and permanent legal home of a person or the
place to which the person intends to return even though the person may reside
elsewhere. As a further explanation, "a person may have more than one
residence but only one domicile". [625 ILCS 5/1-115.5]

"Employee" means an individual who works part-time, full-time, or performs
seasonal work and is:

permitted to work by an employer whose base of operations, regional
office, or headquarters is in Illinois and that employee's work is primarily
performed in Illinois, or

permitted to work by an employer if either of the following is true:
The work is primarily performed in Illinois for an employer that
performs substantial business in the State, markets its services in
the State, or maintains a registered agent within the State of

Illinois; or

the work is primarily performed in Illinois and individual is
domiciled in Illinois.

For the purposes of this Part, when considering whether work is performed
primarily in Illinois, the Department will consider the following factors:

The amount of work performed in Illinois compared to the amount
of work performed outside of Illinois;

Whether the work performed inside of Illinois is isolated,
temporary, or transitory; and

Whether the work performed outside of Illinois is the of same
nature or has the same duties of the work performed in Illinois.

The definition of "employee" does not include the following:
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An employee as defined in the federal Railroad Unemployment
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Insurance Act (45 U.S.C. 351) or the federal Railway Labor Act (45

US.C. 151);

A student enrolled in and regularly attending classes in a college or
university who is also working less than full-time temporary basis at the

same college or university,

An employee of a college or university who works for less than 2

consecutive quarters and the employee does not have a reasonable
expectation to be rehired by the same employer for the same service in

the subsequent calendar year, or

A bona fide independent contractor except an individual working as a
domestic worker as defined by the Domestic Workers' Bill of Rights Act

and by this Part. [820 ILCS 192/10]

The definition of "employee" includes domestic workers.

"Employer" means any individual, sole proprietor, partnership, association,

corporation, limited liability company, business trust, employment and labor
placement agency, State or local unit of government, any political subdivision of
the State, or any State or local government agency, including all branches of State

government, employing individuals in Illinois, except for the following:

Public school districts organized under the School Code [105 ILCS 5];

and

Park districts organized under the Park District Code [70 ILCS 1205].

[820 ILCS 192/10]

"Frontload" means to make available the minimum number of hours of paid leave
time, subject to pro rata requirements provided in 820 ILCS 192/15(b), to an
employee on the first day of employment or the first day of the 12-month period.

[820 ILCS 192/15(c)]

"Independent contractor" means an individual, other than a domestic worker,

who:
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has been and will continue to be free from control and direction over the
performance of the individual's work, both under the contract of service
with the employer and in fact; and

performs work that is either outside the usual course of business or is
performed outside all of the employer's places of business, unless the
employer is in the business of contracting with third parties for the
placement of employees, and

is in an independently established trade, occupation, profession, or
business. [820 ILCS 115/2]
"Paid leave", "paid leave time", or "paid leave hours" means time off from work
for which the employer is required to pay the employee.

"Party" means any employee affected by a possible violation of the Act or any
employer whose compliance with the Act is in question.

"Practical" means realistically capable of being accomplished in the actual
circumstances.

"Qualifying pre-existing paid leave policy" means a bona fide paid leave policy
that an employer has enacted prior to January 1, 2024, that, in practice, allows all
employees to take at least 40 hours of paid leave for any reason of the employee's
choosing.

"Regular rate of pay" means, for an employee who is not engaged in an
occupation in which gratuities or commissions have customarily and usually
constituted part of remuneration, an employee's average hourly rate of pay as
calculated according to the Subpart D of the Minimum Wage Law Code (56 Ill.
Adm. Code 210.) For guidance in the interpretation of the regular rate of pay, the
Act, and this Part, the Director may refer to the Regulations and Interpretations of
the Administrator, Wage and Hour Division, U.S. Department of Labor,
administering the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended (29 U.S.C. 207
and 213). For an employee who customarily receives gratuities, "regular rate of
pay" shall be at least the full minimum wage in the jurisdiction where the
employee is employed when paid leave is taken. [820 ILCS 192/5]
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"Shared Services" means services provided by a domestic worker to more than
one employer that are intentionally coordinated by the employers. For example,
in the context of childcare services, shared services are commonly referred to as a
"nanny share".

"State agency" means all boards, commissions, agencies, institutions, authorities,
bodies politic and corporate of the State created by or pursuant to the constitution
or statute, of the executive branch of State government. [20 ILCS 435/4]

"Writing" or "Written" means a printed or printable communication in physical
or electronic format, including a communication that is transmitted through
electronic mail, text message, or a computer system or is otherwise sent or stored
electronically. [820 ILCS 192/10]

Section 200.120 Incorporated and Referenced Materials

The following regulations and standards are incorporated in this Part. All incorporations by
reference refer to the regulations, guidelines and standards on the date specified and do not
include any editions or amendments subsequent to the date specified.

a)

b)

The following State statutes are referenced in this Part:

1) [linois Vehicle Code [625 ILCS 5];

2) School Code [105 ILCS 5];

3) Park District Code [70 ILCS 1205];

4) Forms Notice Act [20 ILCS 435];

5) Illinois Wage Payment and Collection Act [820 ILCS 115]; and
6) Illinois Administrative Procedure Act [5 ILCS 100/Art. 10].
The following State regulations are referenced in this Part:

1) Minimum Wage Law Code (56 Ill. Adm. Code 210); and

2) Rules of Procedure in Administrative Hearings (56 Ill. Adm. Code 120).
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c) The Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended (29 U.S.C. 207 and 213).
SUBPART B: EARNING PAID LEAVE
Section 200.200 General Provisions
a) Minimum Paid Leave Time Requirements

1) An employee is entitled to earn a minimum of 40 hours of paid leave
during a 12-month period or a pro rata number of hours of paid leave
during a 12-month period, consistent with Section (a)(2) and Section 15(b)
of the Act and Section 200.220 of this Part. [820 ILCS 192/15]

2) Employers may provide such leave via accrual or frontloading.

3) An employer may choose to provide more than the minimum number of
paid leave hours to an employee under this subsection or otherwise adopt a
more generous paid leave policy as long as the policy meets the minimum
requirements of the Act and this Part.

b) An employer who has a qualifying pre-existing paid leave policy in effect on
January 1, 2024, is not required to modify the pre-existing paid leave policy. If,
after January 1, 2024, the employer modifies a pre-existing paid leave policy in
such a way that it no longer provides 40 hours of paid leave to be used for any
reason in accordance with Section 15(a) of the Act, that policy no longer qualifies
for this subsection (b).

Section 200.210 Start of Paid Leave Benefits
An employee shall begin to earn paid leave hours, via frontloading or accrual, at the
commencement of the individual's employment with the employer or on January 1, 2024,
whichever is the later date. [820 ILCS 192/15]
Section 200.220 Accruing Paid Leave Over a 12-Month Period

a) If an employer requires employees to earn paid leave hours via accrual, an

employee is entitled to accrue paid leave hours at the rate of one hour of paid
leave for every 40 hours worked during a 12-month period up to a minimum of 40
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hours of paid leave over the same 12-month period. [820 ILCS 192/15] An
employer may choose to provide leave in smaller, proportional, increments, if the
rate of benefit accrual is at least 1 hour of paid leave for every 40 hours worked.
For the purpose of this Section, work periods of fewer than 15 minutes must be
rounded up to 15 minutes.

An employer is required to count all time that an employee works, including
overtime hours worked, for purposes of calculating accrual. An employer is not
required to count time when an employee is on paid or unpaid leave or other non-
compensable time where the employee is not performing work for the employer
as time worked for accrual purposes.

Employees exempt from the overtime requirements of the federal Fair Labor
Standards Act (29 U.S.C 213(a)(1)) shall be deemed to work 40 hours in each
workweek for purposes of paid leave time accrual if that employee regularly
works 40 or more hours in a workweek. [820 ILCS 192/20] If such employee's
regular workweek is less than 40 hours, the employee's paid leave time accrues
based on the number of hours in their regular workweek.

1) An overtime-exempt employee who regularly works 40 hours or more in a
workweek is entitled a minimum of 40 hours of paid leave during a 12-
month period.

2) An overtime-exempt employee who regularly works less than 40 hours in
a workweek is entitled to accrue paid leave hours based on the number of
hours worked in that workweek consistent with Sections 200.200 and
200.220.

Accrual calculation examples.

EXAMPLE A: Employee A works 15 hours per week, 52 weeks per year.
Employee A is entitled to accrue 19.5 hours of paid leave annually. (15 times 52
= 780 hours worked per year. 780 divided by 40 = 19.5 hours of paid leave time.)

EXAMPLE B: Employee B works 50 hours per week, 52 weeks per year.
Employee B is entitled to accrue at least 40 hours of paid leave annually.
Employee B's employer may choose to provide more than 40 hours, either via
accrual or frontloading.
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EXAMPLE C: Employee C is paid on a salary basis and qualifies for the
"administrative" exemption under the Fair Labor Standards Act. Employee C's
office hours are regularly 37.5 hours per week, but in some weeks, this
employee's work hours may be fewer or more, depending on workload. Employee
C's employer requires employees to earn paid leave via accrual. Employee C's
paid leave shall accrue on the basis of 37.5 hours per week, even in weeks when
they work fewer hours.

Section 200.230 Frontloading Paid Leave at the Start of a 12-Month Period

a)

If an employer frontloads leave by providing to its employees the minimum
required number of paid leave hours available for use on the employee's first day
of employment or the first day of any 12-month period, the employer is subject to
the following requirements:

1) The employer shall give written notice to the employee informing the
employee of how many paid leave hours that employee is receiving on or
before the first day of employment or on or before the first day of the 12-
month period.

A) If an employer chooses a fixed date for the beginning of the 12-
month period, such as January 1 or July 1, the employer may pro-
rate the amount of frontloaded paid leave time that an employee
who begins employment mid-12-month period shall receive. The
employer shall then frontload the full 12-month period's worth of
paid leave time to that employee at the next regular fixed date.

B) An employer may choose to use each employee's employment start
date as the start of that employee's 12-month period.

0) An employer may not retroactively diminish benefits that the
employer has already provided to an employee. Therefore, an
employer may not recoup or require an employee to repay paid
leave time that was frontloaded at the beginning of the 12-month
period if the employee's employment ends before the end of the
12-month period.
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2) Each 12-month period shall renew consecutively for the duration of
employment unless employer does all of the following (see Section 15(d)
of the Act):

A) Gives written notice to the employee at least 30 days prior to the
end of the 12-month period, informing them that the 12-month
period is changing or ending;

B) Gives the employee written documentation of the number of hours
worked during the 12-month period, the number of paid leave
hours accrued, the number of paid leave hours taken, and the
remaining paid leave hours balance; and

) Ensures that the changing of the 12-month period does not reduce
the number of paid leave hours the employee is otherwise entitled
to in a 12-month period.

3) An employee who receives frontloaded paid leave on the first day of any
12-month period shall continue to receive paid leave hours on the first day
of any consecutive 12-month period unless the employer does the
following (see Section 15(d) of the Act):

A) Gives written notice the employee at least 30 days prior to the end
of the 12-month period that the 12-month period is changing or
ending;

B) Gives the employee written documentation of the number of hours

worked during the 12-month period, the number of paid leave
hours accrued, the number of paid leave hours taken, and the
remaining paid leave hours balance; and

C) Ensures that the changing of the 12-month period does not reduce
the number of paid leave hours the employee is otherwise entitled
to in a 12-month period.

The number of hours of paid leave provided under this Section shall not be less
than what the employee would be entitled to earn if the employer had not
provided all paid leave hours on the first day of employment or the first day of the
12-month period.
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With appropriate notice to the employee and documentation, employers may
frontload paid leave time for part-time employees at a pro rata amount consistent
with the employee's anticipated work schedule for that 12-month period.
However, if the employee works more hours than the employer anticipated, the
employee is entitled to accrue additional hours at a rate of 1 hour of paid leave for
every 40 hours worked in that same 12-month period, up to 40 hours of paid
leave. If a part-time employee works fewer hours in the 12-month period than
anticipated by their employer, the employer may not diminish or recoup used or
unused frontloaded paid leave benefits in any way.

Section 200.240 Mixed-Earning Policies

a)

b)

An employer may provide some of its employees paid leave in form of
frontloading, and other employees paid leave via accrual, if the employer's paid
leave policy meets all of the requirements of the Act and this Part.

An employer shall not illegally discriminate or otherwise violate state or federal
law when determining which employees qualify for frontloading or accrual.

Section 200.250 Notice and Accounting

a)

b)

During the duration of the employee's employment, the employer shall provide an
accounting of the employee's unused balance of paid leave time on each paystub
or form that the employer normally furnishes to the employee to notify them of
wage payments and deductions from wages.

If an employee accrues paid leave based on Section 200.220 and requests
information regarding subsection (a), then the employer shall provide such
records to the employee as soon as is practical.

Section 200.260 Collective Bargaining Agreements

a)

b)

Employees covered under a bona fide collective bargaining agreement may
negotiate minimum standards of paid leave meeting or exceeding what is required
by the Act.

No term or provision of an existing bona fide collective bargaining agreement, in
effect on January 1, 2024, shall be affected by the Act. [820 ILCS 192/15]
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For a bona fide collective bargaining agreement that takes effect on or after
January 1, 2024, covered employees may waive the requirements of the Act only if
the language of the waiver is clear, unambiguous, and explicitly waives the
requirements of the Act. [820 ILCS 192/15]

The provisions of this Act do not apply to:

1) an employee who works in the construction industry and is covered by a
bona fide collective bargaining agreement, regardless of whether that
collective bargaining agreement is in effect before or after January 1,
2024; [820 ILCS 192/20] or

2) an employee who works for an employer that provides services nationally
and internationally of delivery, pickup, and transportation of parcels,
documents, and freights and is covered by a bona fide collective
bargaining agreement, regardless of whether that collective bargaining
agreement is in effect before or after January 1, 2024. [820 ILCS 192/15]

If an employee works for a State Agency and is covered by a bona fide collective
bargaining agreement in effect on July 1, 2024, then nothing in the Act shall affect
the validity or change the terms of the agreement applying to the employee.
Employees covered under a bona fide collective bargaining agreement with a
State Agency may only waive the requirements of the Act in such agreement under
the following conditions:

1) If the language of the waiver is clear, unambiguous, and explicitly waives
the requirements of the Act; and

2) The collective bargaining agreement is in effect after January 1, 2024.
[820 ILCS 192/15]

Section 200.270 Local Paid Leave Ordinances

a)

As of January 1, 2024, this Part shall not apply to any employer located in a
municipality or county where the employer is required by local law or ordinance
to provide paid leave time, including paid sick leave, to an employee. [820 ILCS
192/15]
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As of January 1, 2024, this Part shall apply to an employer, who is otherwise
subject to the Act, located in a municipality or county where the employer is not
required by local law or ordinance to provide paid leave time, including paid sick
leave. This shall include employers located in municipalities or counties that have
opted out of an overlapping jurisdiction's paid leave law.

If a municipality or county provides, enacts, or amends a local law or ordinance to
provide paid leave time, including paid sick leave, after January 1, 2024, and the
local law or ordinances provides equal or greater paid leave benefits, rights, and
remedies than the Act, then the employer shall comply with the local law or
ordinance.

If a municipality or county provides, enacts, or amends a local law or ordinance to
provide paid leave time, including paid sick leave, after January 1, 2024, and the
local law or ordinances provides less paid leave benefits, rights, or remedies than
the Act, then the employer shall comply with the minimum requirements of the
Act.

SUBPART C: USE OF PAID LEAVE

Section 200.300 General Provisions

a)

An employee is entitled to begin using earned paid leave time 90 calendar days
after commencement of employment or 90 days after January 1, 2024, whichever
is later. [820 ILCS 192/15]

EXAMPLE A: The Paid Leave for All Workers Act takes effect on January 1,
2024. Six months later, Employee A starts a new job on Monday, July 1, 2024,
and works 40 hours per week. Employee A starts accruing paid leave on their
first day (July 1) but must wait 90 days (until September 29, 2024) before using
any of their accrued paid leave time. See Section 15(g) of the Act.

EXAMPLE B: Employee B is hired to begin employment in an office job on
September 1, 2024, which is the beginning of the employer's pay period. The
office is closed on September 1 because it is a weekend, and it's also closed on
Monday, September 2 for Labor Day, so Employee B's first day performing work
is Tuesday, September 3. Because Employee B's employment status began on
September 1, that day is the beginning of the 90-day waiting period. See Section
15(g) of the Act.
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EXAMPLE C: Employee C has worked for an employer since 2019 but did not
previously get paid time off. Employee C is entitled to earn paid leave beginning
January 1, 2024 (the effective date of the Act). Employee C's employer

frontloads its employees' paid leave in accordance with the Act, but Employee C

must wait 90 days before being entitled to use any of their paid leave time. See
Section 15(g) of the Act.

EXAMPLE D: Employee D works 40 hours per week between June 1 and
August 15 (75 days) and does not work the rest of the year. Although Employee D
is entitled to accrue 1 hour of paid leave for every 40 hours worked, they are not
entitled to use that leave during that time because they are not employed for 90
days or longer. If Employee D returns to work for that employer within 12

months, their accrued but unused leave shall be rolled over or reinstated. See
Section 15(k) of the Act.

An employee is entitled to use paid leave earned under the Act and this Part for
any reason of the employee's choosing. [820 ILCS 192/15]

1) An employer shall not require an employee to provide a reason for taking
paid leave time.

2) An employer shall not require an employee provide any type of
documentation, including a certificate or form, as proof or support for the
reason to use the paid leave time. [820 ILCS 192/15]

If an employer maintains a written paid leave policy, handbook, or manual, that
policy or manual must be consistent with the Act and this Part, including Section
200.310.

An employee shall be allowed to use paid leave earned under the Act and this
Part before using any other leave benefits provided by the employer or State law.
[820 ILCS 192/15]

An employee shall be allowed to use any other leave benefits provided by the
employer or State law before using paid leave earned under the Act and this Part.



ILLINOIS REGISTER 15578

g)

23
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF LABOR

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULES

An employer who offers more than one type of leave should confirm and
document what category of leave the employee wishes to draw from for any use
of leave.

Employees shall have the discretion to determine how many paid leave hours they
need to use in a 12-month period except:

1) If an employee's scheduled workday is more than two hours, then the
employer may restrict the use of paid leave to increments of no less than 2
hours per day, in minimum units of 1 hour.

2) If an employee's scheduled workday is less than two hours, then the
employer may restrict the amount of paid leave used per day to the

equivalent of the scheduled workday. [820 ILCS 192/15]

Section 200.310 Paid Leave Usage Policy and Notice Requirements

a)

If an employer chooses to impose terms and conditions on employees' use of paid
leave time, beyond the provisions explicitly required by the Act, the employer
must adopt a reasonable, written paid leave policy, made available in English and
in any additional language commonly spoken by the employer's workforce, that,
at a minimum, includes the protections of the Act and this Part, and is consistent
with the provisions of the Act and this Part. A written paid leave policy, other
than a qualifying pre-existing policy, that is inconsistent with the Act and this Part
is invalid, and an employer with such a policy waives its right to notice of
employees' use of paid leave time.

1) The paid leave policy can be a part of an existing employer manual,
existing employer handbook, or a separate document.

2) The employer shall provide the paid leave policy to the employee prior to
or upon the employee's commencement of employment or within 90 days
after the effective date of the Act, whichever is later. Employers who
regularly communicate with employees via electronic means shall also
provide the notice via the employer's regular electronic communication
method.
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3) If an employer changes the paid leave policy during the course of an
employee's employment, then the employer shall notify the employee of
the updated paid leave policy as soon as practical.

4) An employee may request to use paid leave under this Act and this Part by
making an oral or written request to the employer consistent with the
employer's paid leave policy. [820 ILCS 192/15] Whether to make such
request orally or in writing is the employee's choice.

If an employer's paid leave policy has prior notification requirements, those may
include the following (see Section 15(h) of the Act):

1) If an employee's request to use paid leave time is foreseeable, then an
employer may require an employee give a maximum of 7 days' prior
notice.

2) If an employee's request to use paid leave time is unforeseeable, then the

employer may require the employee to provide notice as soon as
practically possible after the employee is aware of the necessity of the
leave.

3) An employer cannot deny an employee's request to use paid leave even if
the employee's request does not meet an employer's foreseeability
requirements, except under the conditions of subsection (c).

An employer may deny an employee's request to use paid leave under the
following conditions:

1) The employer's policy for considering leave requests under the Act,
including any basis for denial under this Section is disclosed to the
employee, in writing, consistent with this Section; and

2) The employer's paid leave policy establishes certain limited circumstances
in which paid leave may be denied in order to meet the employer's core
operational needs for the requested time period. In considering whether an
employee's request for paid leave may be denied based on operational
needs, relevant factors include:
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A) Whether the employer provides a need or service critical to the
health, safety, or welfare of the people of Illinois; and

B) Whether similarly situated employees are treated the same for the
purposes of reviewing, approving, and denying paid leave; and

0] Whether granting leave during a particular time period would
significantly impact the business operations due to the employer's
size; and

D) Whether the employee has adequate opportunity to use all paid
leave time they are entitled to over a 12-month period.

3) The employer provides to the employee, and maintains according to
Section 200.440, a record of, each request which is denied and the
employer's reason for the denial.

d) An employer shall provide employees with written notice of the paid leave policy
notification requirements in this Section in the manner provided in Section 20 (d)
of the Act for notice and posting, and shall do so within 5 calendar days of any
change to the employer's reasonable paid leave policy notification requirements.

[820 ILCS 192/15]

e) An employer shall not require an employee to search for or locate a replacement
worker to cover the employee's use of paid leave time. [820 ILCS 192/15]

f) If an employer changes its policy regarding an employee's requirement to notify
the employer before taking paid leave time, then the employer must communicate
the change in writing within 5 calendar days after the change.

g) An employer may restrict an employee's use of paid leave to the employee's
regular workweek.

Section 200.320 Carry Over

a) For an employee who accrues paid leave time over the course of a 12-month
period, any unused paid leave time shall carry over annually from one 12-month
period to the next 12-month period. Employers may establish a reasonable policy
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consistent with Section 200.310 restricting employees' ability to carry over more
than 80 hours of unused paid leave. See Section 15(i) of the Act.

b) Employees who receive frontloaded paid leave at the beginning of the 12-month
period, in accordance with Section 200.220, are not entitled to carry over paid
leave time from one 12-month period to the next. See Section 15(c) of the Act.

C) An employee is not entitled to use more than 40 hours of paid leave in a 12-month
period unless the employer allows them to do so. See Section 15(i) of the Act.

Section 200.330 Rate of Pay

a) Employees shall be paid their regular rate of pay when taking paid leave time, or,
if salaried, an hourly amount equivalent to their annualized rate of pay divided by
the number of hours they are expected to work in a year consistent with this
Section. [820 ILCS 192/15]

b) Employees who work in an occupation where gratuities are customarily the form
of payment, and whose employers take a tip credit, shall be paid at least the full
minimum wage in the jurisdiction where the employer is located for all paid leave
hours. [820 ILCS 192/15]

C) Employees whose employers take a tip credit, who work in an occupation where
gratuities are customarily the form of payment, and whose annualized rate of pay
is the same or greater than the full minimum wage of the jurisdiction where the
employer is located, shall be paid at their annualized rate of pay when using paid
leave time.

SUBPART D: EMPLOYER RESPONSIBILITIES
Section 200.400 Domestic Workers

a) Domestic workers shall earn or accrue paid leave under this Act from each
employer for whom they perform work. If the employer of a domestic worker
requires that a domestic worker demonstrate that the domestic worker has
performed, in aggregate for all employers, more than 8 hours of domestic work
per workweek, in order to meet the definition of "domestic worker" in Section 10
of the Domestic Workers' Bill of Rights Act, then a signed statement prepared by
the domestic worker and submitted to each employer indicating that the employee
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has worked or is scheduled to work 8 total hours in the workweek shall suffice in

order for the domestic worker to be eligible to earn paid leave time. [820 ILCS
192/10]

b) If a domestic worker is employed jointly by two or more employers in a shared
services arrangement, then all of the employers shall be considered one employer
for the purposes of the Act and this Part (see Section 200.420).

EXAMPLE: A worker is hired jointly by two families with an agreement to
provide nanny services for two separate households. The worker provides
services for a combined 50 hours during the week: 30 hours for Family A and 20
hours for Family B. For the purposes of providing paid leave time, the families
are in a shared services arrangement. All of the worker's time spent working for
both families is counted together for accrual calculation purposes.

Section 200.410 Joint Employment

For the purposes of the Act and this Part, questions of joint employment will be evaluated
according to the provisions of Section 210.115 of the Minimum Wage Law Code (56 I11. Adm.
Code 210).

Section 200.420 Transfers and Reinstatements

a) An employee is entitled to retain and use all unused accrued paid leave earned at
a division, entity, or location if the employee is transferred to a separate division,
entity, or location of the same employer. [820 ILCS 192/15]

b) An employee is entitled to retain and use all unused accrued paid leave time
earned from employment if the employee was terminated or separated from
employment and was rehired within 12 months by the same employer. The unused
earned or accrued paid leave time shall be reinstated to the employee on the first
day of reinstatement. [820 ILCS 192/15]

C) If an employee separates and returns within the same 12-month period, that
employee is entitled to reinstatement of any unused frontloaded paid time off

unless it was paid out upon separation.

Section 200.430 Continuation of Health Benefits
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a) If an employee takes earned or accrued paid leave under the Act, then the
employer shall continue to provide any health plan coverage for the employee and
the employee's family that the employee already had during the duration of the
paid leave time. [820 ILCS 192/15]

b) The continuation of any group health plan coverage shall not be at a level or at
conditions less than if the employee had not taken or used paid leave under the
Act. [820 ILCS 192/15]

c) If the employee is required to pay a premium for the health plan while taking or
using paid leave time, then before the use of paid leave the employer shall notify

the employee in writing that the employee is still responsible for continued
payment. [820 ILCS 192/15]

Section 200.440 Recordkeeping Requirements

a) Every employer shall create and maintain, for not less than 3 years, the following
records for each employee:

1) Name and address;

2) Hours worked each day in each workweek;

3) Paid leave earned or accrued in each workweek;
4) Paid leave taken or used in each workweek;

5) Requests by the employee to use paid leave that the employer denied; and

6) Remaining paid leave balance in each workweek and upon employee's
separation or termination from employment. [820 ILCS 192/15]

b) Every employer shall make all records related to the Paid Leave for All Workers
Act and this Part available to the employee or for inspection by the Department
upon request.

Section 200.450 Display of Paid Leave for All Workers Notice

Every employer shall display a notice in the following manner:
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Each notice shall be posted in a conspicuous location on the employer's premises
where notices to employees are customarily posted.

The notice shall not be obscured in any manner and shall be prominently visible
in the location where notices to employees are customarily posted. In addition to
displaying a notice in a physical location at the employer's premises, employers
who regularly communicate with employees via electronic means shall also
provide the notice via the employer's regular electronic communication method.

The notice shall be a written document that includes the following:

1) A statement, supplied by the Department at no cost to the employer,
summarizing the requirements of the Act including information about
filing a complaint with the Department; [820 ILCS 192/20] and

2) A statement, written by the employer, summarizing the employer's written
paid leave manual, handbook, or policy, if the employer has one, including
how an employee may receive a copy of such document.

If the employer's workforce has a significant percentage of workers who are not
literate in English, then the employer shall additionally post the notice, as
supplied by the Department, in the languages commonly spoken in the workplace.

An employer who violates this Section or Section 20(d) of the Act shall be fined a
civil penalty of 8500 for the first audit violation and 31,000 for any subsequent
audit violation. [820 ILCS 192/20]

Section 200.460 Determining Payment of Paid Leave Upon Separation from Employment

a)

b)

An employee's existing time off allowance bank or time off account shall be kept
separate from the accounting of the employee's earned paid leave under the Act
unless the employer's written policy or practice is to combine such leave.

If an employer chooses to credit the paid leave provided for under the Act to an
existing paid leave allowance provided by the employer, such policy must be
communicated to the employee within 30 days after the start of employment or of
the effective date of the policy. See Sec. 300.210.
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If an employer chooses to credit the leave provided for under the Act to an
existing paid leave allowance provided by the employer, any unused paid leave
time shall be paid to the employee upon an employee's termination, resignation,
retirement, or other separation to the same extent that vacation time is paid under
the lllinois Wage Payment and Collection Act [820 ILCS 115/5]. [820 ILCS
192/15]

If an employer does not provide an additional form of paid leave allowance, nor
chooses to combine or credit the multiple forms of leave together, then an
employer shall not be required to pay out, provide financial benefit, or
reimbursement for unused paid leave earned under the Act upon an employee's
termination, resignation, retirement, or other separation from employment at any
time of the year.

EXAMPLE A: Prior to January 1, 2024, Employer A, who is subject to the
Illinois Wage Payment and Collection Act, offers two weeks of paid vacation to
all employees. Beginning on January 1, 2024, Employer A allows employees to
accrue paid leave under the Paid Leave for All Workers Act, and terms that leave
"PLAW Leave." Employer A maintains records of the distinct balance each
employee has in the employee's vacation account and in the employee's PLAW
Leave account.

Because Employer A maintains separate documentation of the vacation leave and
PLAW Leave, Employer A does not have to pay out PLAW Leave upon an
employee's separation. When Employee A requests to use leave, Employer A
should ask Employee A whether they wish to deduct the leave from their vacation
balance or their PLAW Leave balance in order to appropriately document
Employee A's remaining paid leave balances.

Section 200.470 Prohibition on Retaliation

a)

1t is unlawful for any employer to threaten to take or to take any adverse action
against an employee because the employee does one or more of the following:

1) exercises a right or attempts to exercise a right under the Act or this Part;

2) opposes practices which the employee believes to be in violation of the Act
or this Part; or
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3) supports the exercise of rights of another employee of the same employer
under the Act or this Part. [820 ILCS 192/25]
b) 1t is unlawful for any employer to consider the use of paid leave by an employee

as a factor in any employment action that involves recruitment, hiring, promotion,
renewal of employment, selection for training or apprenticeship, discharge,
discipline, tenure or terms, privileges or conditions of employment evaluation, or
counting paid leave under a no-fault attendance policy. [820 ILCS 192/25]

c) It is unlawful for an employer to take adverse employment action, including but
not limited to, penalizing or disciplining an employee under an attendance point
system or equivalent attendance scoring or tracking system when an employee
exercises his or her rights under the Act or this Part.

SUBPART E: ENFORCEMENT
Section 200.500 Filing a Complaint

a) An employee may file a complaint with the Department alleging a violation of the
Act by completing and submitting a form provided by the Department and
submitting supporting documentation. All complaints shall be filed within 3 years
after the alleged violation. [820 ILCS 192/30]

b) The Department has the power to conduct investigations upon receipt of a
complaint or at the discretion of the Director. Complaints shall be reviewed by
the Department to determine whether there is cause for investigation.

C) The Department may attempt to resolve the complaint by conference, voluntary
mediation, conciliation, or persuasion.

d) If, after investigation, the Department believes that the Act has been violated, then
the Department shall notify the parties in writing and the matter shall be referred
to an administrative hearing consistent with Section 200.520.

Section 200.510 Service of Documents

Service of any document upon any person may be made by personal delivery, certified mail with
the return receipt signed by the person or its agent, U.S. regular mail with postage prepaid, email
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to an email address previously designated by the party for purposes of receiving communications
under this Act, or any other verifiable means, such as private carrier, to the following:

a)
b)

c)

d)

an address on file with the Department;
an address on file with the Secretary of State;

an address on file with any other State agency with which the respondent must
maintain a current address; or

any other address, including e-mail address, that the Department reasonably
calculates to be a true and current address for the respondent.

Section 200.520 Administrative Hearings

Hearings shall be conducted pursuant to the provisions of Article 10 of the Illinois
Administrative Procedure Act [5 ILCS 100/Art. 10] and the Rules of Procedure in
Administrative Hearings (56 I1l. Adm. Code 120).

Section 200.530 Damages, Penalties, and Relief Due to the Employee

a)

b)

If the Department determines that an employer owes payment for paid leave hours
to a claimant or did not allow the employee to use earned paid leave hours, then
the total amount due to the claimant shall be the following:

1) Total value of earned paid leave hours owed to the claimant;

2) Compensatory damages;

3) A penalty of not less than 3500 and not more than $1,000; and

4) Any equitable relief as determined by the Administrative Law Judge
pursuant to a hearing conducted under the IAPA. [820 ILCS 192/30]

When determining the amount of a penalty, the Director shall consider the
following factors:

1) The gravity of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, and
extent of the violation, and the severity of the actual or potential harm;
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2) The history of previous violations; and
3) The size of the employer, including number of employees employed by

the employer, the gross dollar volume of sales or business done, the
employer's capital investments and financial resources, and other
information relevant to the size of the employer.

Section 200.540 Penalties Due to the Department of Labor

If an employer violates any provision of the Act except for Section 20(c) of the Act or any
Section of this Part, except for Section 200.450, then the employer shall be subject to a civil
penalty of $2,500 per offense, payable to the Paid Leave for All Workers Fund. [820 ILCS

192/35]



