
Migrant Workers’ Rights in Illinois 
Illinois employment laws provide certain protections 

for workers in agricultural work.
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State of Illinois 
Department of Labor

For more information or to file a complaint, contact us at: 

160 N. LaSalle St, Suite C­1300, Chicago, IL 60601 
Visit the website: https://www2.illinois.gov/idol/Pages/Complaints.aspx  

Chicago 312.793.2800 • Springfield 217.782.6206 • Marion 618.993.7090

Minimum Wage $9.25 per hour  
(Effective Jan. 1, 2020)  

Wage Increases Schedule  
Effective July 1, 2020  . . . . . . . . . . . .$10.00 

Unpaid Wages  
Employees must receive all wages and final 
compensation, including earned vacation pay, 
commissions and bonuses on their next 
regularly scheduled payday.   

All wages earned by any employee must be 
paid according to the following pay frequency 
after the end of the pay period in which such 
wages are earned: 

  • Semi-monthly or bi-weekly pay period shall be 
paid to such employee not later than 13 days;   

  • Weekly pay period shall be paid not later 
than 7 days;   

  • Daily pay period as possible on the same 
day as the wages were earned, or not later 
in any event for more than 24 hours 

Employee “wages” is determined by an 
employment contract or agreement between 
the 2 parties, whether the amount is determined 

on a time, task, piece, or any other basis of 
calculation (e.g. minimum number of hours of 
worked promised for a period of time).  

Deductions from paychecks are only allowed if 
specified by law or authorized in writing by 
the worker.  

Meal Periods  
Employees working 7 ½ continuous hours must 
be allowed a meal period of at least 20 minutes 
no later than 5 hours after the start of work.    

An employer does not have to pay for the 
meal period; however, the employer cannot 
deduct the meal period from pay when they 
do not allow the worker to actually take the 
meal break. 

Wage Theft 
Examples of wage theft include 
unauthorized deductions from paycheck, 
payment to employee is below the minimum 
wage, non-payment by employer for hours 
worked or non-payment for overtime hours, 
charges deducted for tools, supplies or 
equipment used on the job without 
employee’s written consent or loss of earned 
benefit time. 


