Child Labor Changes – 2025

Bulletin for Employers

- Minors cannot work more than 16 hours during school weeks.
- Minors cannot work more than 40 hours during non-school weeks.
- Minors cannot work more than 8 hours in any 24 hour period.
- Minors cannot work later than 7 p.m. between Labor Day and June 1, nor later than 9 p.m. in the summer. (Special work hours apply for parks and recreation employers.)
- Employers must have an adult, 21 years or older, supervising the minor at all times at the place of employment.
- If a minor **dies** in because of work-related reason, the employer must report the death to the Department of Labor and the School Official who issued the permit within 24 hours
- If a minor is **injured** because of a work-related reason or suffers a work related illness, then the employer must report it to the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission under Section 6 of the Workers' Compensation Act or Section 6 of the Workers' Occupational Diseases Act, and the employer shall submit a copy of the report to the Department of Labor and to the school official who issued the minor's work certificate for that employer within 72 hours of the deadline by which the employer must file such report to the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission.
- Minors are prohibited from working in any occupation which is prohibited by federal law. What jobs are off-limits for kids? | U.S. Department of Labor
- Minors are prohibited from working in any occupation determined to be hazardous by the Director of the Department of Labor.
- Minors are prohibited from working in any form in live adult entertainment establishments.
- Minors are prohibited from working in any firearm range or gun range.
- Minors cannot draw, mix, pour, or serve any item containing alcohol during employment.
- Minors cannot handle or able to access any goods or products which are illegal for minors to purchase or possess during employment.
- Minors cannot work in the practice of barbering, cosmetology, esthetics, hair braiding, nail technology services, or any other profession requiring a cosmetology license.
- Employers who violate the Act are subject to a civil penalty not to exceed \$20,000 for each violation. If a minor is injured, becomes ill, or dies, then the penalty shall not exceed \$60,000.

Child Labor Changes – 2025

Bulletin for School Officials

- o The Act defines school hours based on the type of school and the hours when the school is in session, for each minor.
- o Issuing officer(s) must consider the "health, welfare, and education" of the minor when assessing an employment certificate application, including consideration of past reports of death/injury of a minor at that workplace listed on the application.
- o The minor's work permit must include information about the minor's school schedule, as deemed relevant by the issuing officer.
- o Minors who are who are experiencing homelessness or who don't have a birth certificate may still be eligible for a work permit pursuant to the law.
- o Issuing officer(s) may rely on the minor's most recent school physical to determine the physical fitness of the minor.
- o How and whether the requirements of the Child Labor Law apply to work-based learning programs administered by the school.