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June 20, 2025 

 

 

 

NOTICE: NEW NURSE AGENCY REQUIREMENTS EFFECTIVE APRIL 25, 2025 

 

 

Nurse Agency Administrators:  

 

 On April 25, 2025, the Illinois Department of Labor amended its rules (68 Ill. Admin Code 690) for 

the Nurse Agency Licensing Act (“the Act”) (225 ILCS 510/ et. seq.) All nurse agencies (“Agency” 

or “Agencies”) that employ, assign or refer nurses or certified nurse aides to a healthcare facility for 

a fee, as defined in the Act, will be subject to the following updated provisions. 

 

Dispatch Notice 

 

• A nurse agency shall provide at the time of dispatch, to each nurse or certified nurse aide 

who is sent to work for a health care facility, a written notice that contains the following 

information: 

a. the name of the nurse or certified nurse aide; 

b. the name, address, and telephone number of the health care facility that the nurse or 

certified nurse aide is being dispatched to; 

c. the name and title of the supervising health care facility employee to whom the 

nurse or certified nurse aide is expected to report; 

d. the rate of pay offered; and 

e. the hours that the nurse or certified nurse aide is expected to work. 

• A sample dispatch notice is available on our website. 

 

Wage Payment Notice 

 

• At the time of payment of wages, a nurse agency shall provide the following 

information on the nurse or certified nurse aide's paycheck or pay stub, or on a form 

approved by the Department: 

a. the number of hours worked by the nurse or certified nurse aide at each health care 

facility each day during the pay period; 

b. the rate of payment for each hour worked, including any premium rate or bonus; 

and 

c. the total pay period earnings. 

• A sample wage payment notice is available on our website. 



 

Fee Schedule 

 

• The application must be accompanied by a $1000.00 fee and a $250.00 fee for each branch 

or other location in Illinois from which the nurse agency operates. 

• The fee shall be paid using the State Treasurer’s E-Pay program. 

o New Application 

o Penalty Application 

o Renewal Application 

 

Contract Submission 

 

• A nurse agency shall submit to the Department all contracts within five (5) calendar days 

of the effective date of the contract. 

• All contracts must conspicuously identify the name of the nurse agency and the name of 

the health care facility to which nurses or certified nurse aides are employed, assigned, or 

referred pursuant to the contract. The contract must include the effective date and 

termination date of the contract; if the contract has no termination date, it must include a 

clear statement of the time period covered by the contract term, including any auto-renewal 

date, which shall be considered an effective date. Contracts with auto-renewal provisions 

are deemed to begin a new contract term on the date of renewal. 

• Contracts must be submitted electronically in PDF format through the Department’s online 

portal at https://webapps.illinois.gov/DOL/NALA/  

 

Covenants Not to Compete 

 

• Temporary Placements  

o Nurse agencies shall not enter into covenants not to compete with nurses or 

certified nurse aides if the nurse agency is employing, assigning, or referring the 

employee to a health care facility on a temporary basis. "Temporary basis" means 

an initial employment, assignment, or referral term of an undefined duration or a 

duration of 24 continuous months or less exclusive of any extension. 

o If a nurse or certified nurse aide and a nurse agency entered into a covenant not to 

compete on or after July 1, 2022, then the covenant is illegal and void if the nurse 

or certified nurse aide is employed, assigned, referred by a nurse agency to a health 

care facility on a temporary basis. [225 ILCS 510/14(g)] 

• Long-term Placements 

o Nurse agencies may enter into covenants not to compete with nurses or certified 

nurse aides if the nurse agency is employing, assigning, or referring the employee 

to a health care facility on a long-term basis. "Long-term basis" means the 

placement of a nurse or a certified nurse aide at a health care facility for an initial 

employment, assignment, or referral term of more than 24 continuous months by a 

nurse agency that incurs the following expenses to place the nurse or certified 

nurse aide at the health care facility: (i) educational material expenses, if required; 

(ii) expenses for credentialing, licensure, or certification; or (iii) expenses for 

airline travel, lodging, meals, and ground transportation provided to a nurse or 

certified nurse aide. "Long-term basis" does not include the placement of a nurse or 
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a certified nurse aide at a health care facility for an initial employment, 

assignment, or referral term of an undefined duration.  

o If a nurse or certified nurse aide and a nurse agency, on a long-term basis, entered 

into a covenant not to compete on or before December 31, 2027 and the covenant 

expires on or after January 1, 2028, the covenant shall remain in effect until its 

expiration date if the term of the covenant runs concurrently with the employment 

contract. [225 ILCS 510/14(g-5)] 

 

Application Updates 

 

• Signature and stamp of a notary public on page 5 of the nurse agency license is no longer a 

requirement. 

• Proof of Mantoux tuberculosis test and status is no longer a requirement for applicants. 

 

 

Reporting Schedule Update 

  

Agencies will now be given 45 days to submit quarterly reports or the Statement of Exemption for 

each quarter. 

  

Reporting Period Due Date 

March 1- May 31 July 15 

June 1- August 31 October 15 

September 1- November 30 January 15 

December 1- February 28 April 15 

  

Law and Administrative Code 

 

For a full text of the Administrative Code for the Nurse Agency Licensing Act, please visit: 

https://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/06800690sections.html  

 

For the full text of the Nurse Agency Licensing Act please visit: 

https://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs3.asp?ActID=1373  

 

 

 

Thank you for your attention to this matter. Please reach out to us with any questions. 

 

Illinois Department of Labor - Fair Labor Standards Division  

Nurse Agency Licensing Unit 

160 N. LaSalle Street, Ste 1300 

Chicago, Illinois 60601  

http://labor.illinois.gov 

Dol.NurseAgency@illinois.gov  

312-793-1804 
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