
820 ILCS 140: New Amendments Effective 
January 1, 2023

One Day of Rest 
in Seven Act

Illinois Department of Labor



Overview of NEW & 
Existing Provisions

• 24 hours of rest within 7 
consecutive days

• Additional 20-minute meal 
break if working a 12-hour 
shift 

• Penalties by employer size 
per offense

• Poster Requirements 



One Day Off Each Week

• Every employee must receive 24 consecutive 
hours of rest in each calendar week.

• NEW REQUIREMENT: Employees must have 
one day of rest in every consecutive seven-day 
period.

• Example: Employee is scheduled to work 
Wednesday through the following Monday. The 
employee must have that following Tuesday off, 
because to work Wednesday through Tuesday 
is be considered 7 consecutive days.
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Meal Break Required
• 20 minutes required within five hours of starting 

time for all employees required to work 7 1/2 
hours or longer. 

• NEW/ADD’L Requirements: 
• Employees must have an additional 20-minute 

meal break if working a 12-hour shift or longer. 
• Reasonable bathroom breaks do not count 

towards the meal break.
• If a collective bargaining agreement does not 

specify meal breaks, ODRISA provisions apply.



ODRISA Exceptions 

• Watchmen and security guards
• Employees who work less than 20 hours per week
• Agricultural & Coal Mining employees
• Government employees
• Employees of certain seasonal producers
• Executive, administrative, or professional capacity or outside salesman, per the 

federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
• Employees for whom work hours, days of work, and rest periods are established 

through the collective bargaining process.
• If no agreement exists addressing provisions, ODRISA Applies. 
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Relaxation of One Day 
Off Requirement 
Permit on IDOL website

Illinois Department of Labor

https://labor.illinois.gov/laws-rules/fls/odrisa-permit-application.html



Relaxation of One 
Day Off 
Requirement 
(con’t)

Eight Weeks may be 
granted each year.

Additional weeks may 
be granted if justified 
by necessity and a day 
of rest cannot be 
remedied by 
increasing the number 
of employees or 
adjusting production 
schedules.



Employers may request a 
relaxation of this requirement of 
the Day Off Requirement. If IDOL 
grants a relaxation, it requires a 
statement from the employer 
demonstrating:

Written request received prior to the work

All work must be voluntary
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NEW Penalties By Employer Size  
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Fewer than 25 employees:
Up to $250 per offense AND a penalty to 
the Department up to $250 per 
employee per offense.

More than 25 employees:
Up to $500 per offense AND a penalty to 
the Department up to $500 per worker 
per offense.

Each day a meal is not provided 
to an employee AND each 24 

hours off within 7 consecutive 
days is not provided to an 
employee shall constitute a 

separate offenses per employee



Record keeping

Two years retention Hours worked each day 
and each week

Start Time, End time and 
Lunch hours

Open to inspection by 
IDOL

Illinois Department of Labor



Poster Requirement: 
Employers must post 
in a conspicuous 
place on their 
premises and made 
electronically 
available for remote 
employees  
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Reminder: Minimum Wage Increase to $13 per hour

• $7.80 of Tipped Workers 
• $10.50 Youths (under 18) 
working less than 650 hours 
per calendar year.



Thank you & Questions 
Illinois Department of Labor 
Fair Labor Standards Division
160 N. LaSalle St. Suite C-1300
Chicago, IL 60601
Website: Labor.Illinois.gov
312-793-2804

DOL.ODRISA@illinois.gov
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mailto:DOL.ODRISA@illinois.gov
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