## Illinois Department of Labor

## INSTRUCTIONS FOR EMPLOYMENT COUNSELOR APPLICATION 225 ILCS 515/0.01-15

The Private Employment Agencies Act (225 ILCS 515/0.01-15) mandates that prior to performing the services of an employment counselor, you are required by law to obtain a license from the Illinois Department of Labor.

The law forbids anyone to interview, counsel, or advise job applicants or employer clients on employment or allied problems, or make or arrange contracts or contracts between employers and employees without first obtaining a license to act as an employment counselor.

BOTH the employment agency for which you work and yourself will be in violation of the law if you are permitted to act as an employment counselor without a temporary permit issued by the Illinois Department of Labor.

- **INITIAL FEE**: The initial permit fee to obtain an Employment Counselor License is fifty dollars (\$50).
- **RENEWAL FEE**: The annual renewal fee is twenty-five dollars (\$25).
- **AFFIDAVITS:** Your application must include the affidavits of two persons of business or professional integrity that have: 1) known applicant for a period of two years and 2) can state that applicant is a person of good moral character. Each affiant's signature must be notarized.
- **PRIOR TO MAILING YOUR APPLICATION:** Please make certain **all** blanks on the application are completed and the application has the required signatures and notary stamps. Attach the \$50.00 permit fee in the form of a certified check, cashier's check or money order made payable to the IL Department of Labor to the application. Personal or corporate checks are not accepted and will be returned.
- **MAILING ADDRESS**: Your completed application and fee should be mailed to the complete address listed at the top of the application.
- **TEMPORARY PERMIT**: Upon receipt of your properly completed application and fee, a temporary permit will be mailed to you. The temporary permit is valid for ninety (90) days pending passage of an examination on the Private Employment Agencies Law.
- **EXAMINATION**: If you fail to appear for the schedule examination of if you appear and fail to pass, you will be required to pay a ten dollar (\$10) rescheduling fee to be tested at a later date
- MISC: Permit, rescheduling and renewal fees are <u>non-refundable</u>.

Should you have any questions concerning the application or the Private Employment Agencies Act, please contact the Private Employment Agency Section at 312/793-2805.