Private Employment Agencies Licensing Section 160 North LaSalle Street, Suite C-1300 Chicago, Illinois 60601 (312) 793-2805

<u>INSTRUCTIONS</u> FOR OBTAINING A PRIVATE EMPLOYMENT AGENCY LICENSE APPLICATION UPDATES: NEW APPLICATIONS <u>SECTION A</u> RENEWAL APPLICATIONS <u>SECTION B</u>

Guidelines for ALL Applications

- The term of a private employment agency license is one (1) year. All contracts or forms must contain the full name and address of the employment agency. **P.O. Boxes will not be accepted.**
- Each applicant shall study and know the contents of the entire Private Employment Agencies Act since he or she will be accountable after licensing for complete compliance of the Act.
- Agency phone numbers must be listed to the agency or owner at the address of the agency. Agency phone numbers may **not** be used in conjunction with any other business (Subpart F, 680.600).
- If the applicant is unsure if they are applying for the correct license, applicants are encouraged to call IDOL office at 312-793-2805 before applying and paying a fee. Application fees are non-refundable.

Counselor Reminder

- The sole owner or partners acting as employment counselors are not required to be licensed as
 counselors. If a corporation owns the agency, any officer of the corporation acting as an
 employment counselor must be licensed.
- Request for applications for new employment counselor licenses, for owners or employees, should be made and returned to the Department of Labor office during the agency licensing process.
- If you intend to employ counselors who are already licensed, their licenses must be requested from the Department of Labor in writing.

SECTION A: INSTRUCTIONS FOR NEW APPLICATIONS

IMPORTANT REMINDERS:

- Choose the day you wish to OPEN the agency and then file a completed application at least **thirty** (30) days prior to that date.
- All blanks must be completed. Incomplete applications will be returned and will delay the issuance of the license. The ownership and style name of the agency on the application **must** match the ownership and style name of the bond with a SIGNED ORIGINAL.

SUPPLEMENTAL REQUIREMENTS

- 1. BOND: Obtain a bond form executed in the amount of \$5,000 and dated the day you wish to open the agency, <u>not</u> the date you purchased the bond. Bonds are usually purchased through an insurance agent. Return the <u>original</u> executed bond with the prospective agency owner's signature on the lower portion of the application. THE ISSUE AND EXPIRATION DATES ON THE BOND WILL BE THE SAME ON THE LICENSE YOU ARE ISSUED. A Private Employment Agency Surety Bond Form must be filled out as part of the application.
- 2. APPLICATION FEE: The NON-REFUNDABLE fee must be paid on-line. Please click here for on-

DOL-EOW-PEAA02 05/6/2021 Page 1 of 4

Private Employment Agencies Licensing Section 160 North LaSalle Street, Suite C-1300 Chicago, Illinois 60601 (312) 793-2805

line payment information. Your application fee is based on the number of counselors you intend to employ. Any increase in the number of counselors you employ during the year may result in an increased fee.

Less than 3 counselors	\$250
3 to 5 counselors	\$350
6 to 10 counselors	. \$400
More than 10 counselors	. \$500

- **3. BACKGROUND INFORMATION:** A background information form must be completed by each of the corporate officers, the sole owner, all partners, and any other person with a financial interest mentioned in the application. YOU MUST SUBMIT A SIGNED AND NOTARIZED ORIGINAL(S).
- **4. OPERATING EXPENSES:** File a list of estimated projected operating expenses for the first **three** months of business. These should include salaries, rent, telephone, advertising and office expenses.
- **5. CERTIFICATE OF INCORPORATION/PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENT:** File a copy of the certificate of incorporation or signed partnership agreement.
- **6. AFFIDAVITS:** Two affidavits are required from each of the corporate officers, the sole owner, all partners, or any other person with a financial interest mentioned in the application. YOU MUST SUBMIT SIGNED AND NOTARIZED ORIGINALS.
- **7. FEE FORMS:** The forms required by law to be used in the agency are to be **designed by you.** Before printing your forms, you must submit a sample draft of each form to our office for approval. Refer to the Private Employment Agencies Act sections listed below for specific information required on each of the forms. ALL FORMS **MUST** BE IDENTIFIED WITH YOUR AGENCY NAME AND STREET ADDRESS. **P.O. BOXES** WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED.

AGENCY FORM	APPLIES TO	REFERENCE
Contract (or Theatrical Contract)	Agencies Charging Fee to Applicants	Section 515/5 & Subpart G
	Theatrical Agencies Charging Fee to Applicants	Section 515/8
Receipt	Agencies Charging Fee to Applicants	Section 515/5
Referral Slip	All Agencies	Section 515/5
	Domestic Agencies	Section 515/5 & Subpart H 680.860
Fee Schedule & Refund Policy	All Agencies	Section 515/1 & 515/5
Job Orders from Employers	All Agencies	Section 515/3
Job Advertisement	All Agencies	Section 515/3 & Subpart C, 680.330
Application	All Agencies	Subpart A
	Domestic Agencies	Subpart H , 680.810, 820, 830
Fee Transaction Record	All Agencies	Section 515/3
Physical Examination	Domestic Agencies	Section 515/9.1 & Subpart H, 680.890
Reference Verification	Domestic Agencies	Subpart H, 680.840, 850, 860 & 870

DOL-EOW-PEAA02 05/6/2021 Page 2 of 4

Private Employment Agencies Licensing Section 160 North LaSalle Street, Suite C-1300 Chicago, Illinois 60601 (312) 793-2805

8. REFUND POLICY: All agencies that charge placement fees must submit a current copy of their refund policy with their application.

SECTION B: INSTRUCTIONS FOR RENEWAL APPLICATIONS

IMPORTANT REMINDERS:

- Your application must be submitted at least THIRTY (30) CALENDAR DAYS PRIOR to your expiration date to ensure that your new license arrives before your old one expires. Failure to renew a license at its expiration date will cause the license to lapse and a new registration will be required.
- All contracts or forms must include the full name and address of the employment agency. Names and addresses on
 the application must match the name and address of the agency bond continuation certificate. Corporate applications
 must be signed by the President and the Secretary.
- Renewal applicants must provide new or updated information from the original application on file with the Department of Labor.

SUPPLEMENTAL REQUIREMENTS

- **9. BOND:** The Department of Labor will accept a continuation certificate for a period of one year. Bond or continuation certificate MUST be signed and seal-stamped original. Copies of bonds or continuation certificates will be returned and will delay issuance of the license.
- 10. FEE FORMS: All Applications must file a separate copy of their fee schedule, which must be on agency letterhead and clearly indicate placement fees or percentages collected by the agency from both the client/family and/or the talent/domestic applicant. Only placement fees and commissions may be charged by law.

AGENCY FORM	APPLIES TO	REFERENCE
Contract (or Theatrical Contract)	Agencies Charging Fee to Applicants	Section 515/5 & Subpart G
Contract)	Theatrical Agencies Charging Fee to Applicants	Section 515/8
Receipt	Agencies Charging Fee to Applicants	Section 515/5
Referral Slips	All Agencies	Section 515/5
	Domestic Agencies	Section 515/5 & Subpart H 680.860
Fee Schedule & Refund Policy	All Agencies	Section 515/1 & 515/5
Job Orders from Employers	All Agencies	Section 515/3
Job Advertisements	All Agencies	Section 515/3 & Subpart C, 680.330
Application	All Agencies	Subpart A
	Domestic Agencies	Subpart H , 680.810, 820, 830
Fee Transaction Record	All Agencies	Section 515/3
Physical Examination	Domestic Agencies	Section 515/9.1 & Subpart H, 680.890
Reference Verification	Domestic Agencies	Subpart H, 680.840, 850, 860 & 870

Private Employment Agencies Licensing Section 160 North LaSalle Street, Suite C-1300 Chicago, Illinois 60601 (312) 793-2805

- 11. **REFUND POLICY**: All agencies that charge placement fees must submit a current copy of their refund policy with their application.
- **12. FINANCIAL STATUS**: Provide a copy of the most recent tax return.
- **13. LICENSE FEE:** A NON-REFUNDABLE license fee must be paid online. Please visit our <u>website</u> for "Online Payment Information". Your license fee is based on the number of counselors in your employ at the time of renewal and for the remainder of the calendar year. Any increase in counselors during the year would result in an increased fee. The license fee for fewer than three (3) counselors is \$250; three (3) to five (5) counselors, \$350; six (6) to ten (10) counselors, \$400; and more than ten (10) counselors, \$500.
- **14. REPORT OF PLACEMENTS AND DEMOGRAPHICS INFORMATION:** Every such licensee shall furnish the Illinois Department of Labor with annual statement reporting the number and character of placements made.
- **15. CERTIFICATE OF CORPORATION/PARTNERSHIP AGREEMENTS:** Provide a copy of valid certificate of incorporation and partnership agreements in effect.
- **16. CONTRACTS WITH CLIENTS**: Provide a copy of current contracts with each client.
- **17. BACKGROUND INFORMATION**: A background information form must be completed by each private employment agency owner, and any other person with a financial interest mentioned in the application. SIGNED AND NOTARIZED ORIGINAL(S) MUST BE SUBMITTED
- **18. AFFIDAVITS:** Two affidavits are required on behalf of each private employment agency owner, and any other persons with financial interest mentioned in the application. SIGNED AND NOTARIZED ORIGINAL(S) MUST BE SUBMITTED.

DOL-EOW-PEAA02 05/6/2021 Page 4 of 4