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Increase Coming for Illinois Minimum Wage on Jan. 1 
Minimum wage rising to $13 an hour on New Year’s Day 

 
SPRINGFIELD – The Illinois minimum wage is set to increase another dollar on Sunday, January 
1, 2023, making the new required minimum wage $13 an hour.  
 
Minimum wage workers are encouraged to keep a close eye on their paychecks in the new year as 
any time worked in 2023 must reflect the new $13 an hour minimum wage.  
 
There have been five increases in the state minimum wage since Governor JB Pritzker signed 
historic legislation in 2019 that establishes a schedule of wage increases, putting Illinois on the path 
to a $15 an hour minimum wage by 2025. Prior to the first of these minimum wage increases in 
2020, the last time workers in Illinois received an increase in the minimum wage was more than a 
decade ago in 2010. 
 
“Illinois workers deserve a minimum wage that keeps up with the rising costs of living,” said 
Governor JB Pritzker. “That’s why, during my first year as Governor, we raised the minimum 
wage with a gradual ramp to $15 an hour. Starting January 1st, minimum wage workers will get a 
raise and businesses will continue receiving tax credits for providing their workforce with a living 
wage.” 
 
The minimum wage for workers who regularly earn tips will increase to $7.80 an hour on January 
1; these workers must still earn the minimum wage after receiving tips, or the employer is required 
to make up the difference. Workers under 18 who work fewer than 650 hours a year will earn a 
minimum wage of $10.50 per hour beginning January 1.  
 
All employers in Illinois are required to post the “Your Rights Under Illinois Employment Laws” 
poster in the workplace where notices to employees are regularly posted. The color poster, which 
also covers other Illinois labor laws, can be found here in English, Spanish, and Polish. 
 
“Minimum wage laws improve the standard of living for all workers of our state,” said Jane R. 
Flanagan, Director at the Illinois Department of Labor. “Employers and employees should be 
aware of the increase to the minimum wage in Illinois.” 
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Employees can file a minimum wage complaint with IDOL here or by calling the Minimum Wage 
Toll Free Hotline: (800) 478-3998. 
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